Gluten has become a part of our everyday life, and sometimes it seems almost impossible to prepare a meal that does not contain it. However, people diagnosed with celiac disease must avoid gluten.

Gluten-free diet regimens usually involve avoiding grains, especially foods that are rich in gluten. Gluten-free diet does not necessarily mean that you should stop eating grains.

We suggest that you read this overview of nine grains that do not contain gluten. Korrina Fotheringham, a world famous American nutritionist, presents nine gluten-free grains. The best thing about these grains is that they are easy to prepare, super-delicious and nutritious.


Amaranth has its origins in South America, and it is rich in fiber and vitamin C. It is excellent for people who are struggling with celiac disease, due to its ability to positively affect the reconstruction of the entire digestive system.

For a full breakfast, you can combine 1/3 cup of amaranth and 3/4 cup of gluten-free oats. Add just a little salt to season it, and pour in 4 cups of water. Let it cook for about half an hour.


Buckwheat is a traditional peasant dish. It is rich in calcium and B vitamins. It has a distinctive and full flavor, and most often it is prepared as a porridge. To prepare buckwheat porridge, cook it on a low heat for 15-20 minutes. Add some butter or olive oil, and a little salt.


Both corn and corn flour are rich in fiber, vitamin C and vitamin A. If you have suffered from celiac disease and need to renew your cells and the amount of vitamin A in your body, polenta is the right thing for you.

We must note that the market is flooded with genetically modified corn and it may be wiser to opt for corn grits from a local farmer.

Corn can be prepared and consumed in many different ways, including polenta. Polenta is a very tasty and nutritious meal made from corn, and it can be served as a side dish to almost any specialty. Grits can be also used as a flour,  so make a crispy and delicious pizza crust or anything else you may come up with.


Millet is often marginalized, and today it is not used that much. However, it is very nutritious and easy to digest, it is pretty cheap, cost-effective, and rich in B vitamins and potassium. Also, millet can regulate the pH in your body and thus help to maintain the acid-base balance in the whole organism.

To prepare a nice dish use a cup of millet. Add 2-3 cups of water, and cook it on a low heat for thirty minutes. Millet can be prepared as a pudding as well. Cook some millet in a combination of fruit juice and water (4 cups) for 45 minutes to an hour.


Quinoa has recently become one of the most popular grains. It is rich in iron and protein, and it is largely used by people who do not eat meat nor animal products. Cook a cup of quinoa and three cups of water for 10 minutes.


Many people around the world start their day with an oatmeal. Oats are very high in fiber and protein. This grain does not contain gluten, but during the processing, there is a possibility that it gets “infected” with gluten, so make sure you look for products labeled as gluten-free.

The recipe for oatmeal is quite similar to the recipe for any other grain; Cook a cup of oats and 2-3 cups of water for 15 minutes (depending on the thickness you look for).


Rice has been widely used for centuries. It is rich in thiamine and does not contain gluten. If you want to balance your blood sugar choose basmati rice, and it will take longer for your body to digest it. For larger amount of fiber opt for brown rice, and it should be cooked for a little longer than regular rice.

Cook a cup of rice and two cups of water a little longer than ten minutes. To prepare brown rice, cook a cup of the grain and 2-3 cups of water. It will take 45 minutes to an hour.

Sorghum (Chinese sugar cane)

Sugar cane is not that popular as other grains regarded as gluten-free. Probably a lot of people do not even know that sugar cane can be consumed as a grain. It is pretty hard to find it in the form of a grain. However, sugar cane flour is an excellent ingredient for the preparation of various pastries, and of course, it is gluten-free.


Teff is a food product that is commonly used in the Ethiopian cuisine. It is rich in protein, fiber and other nutrients. Some people even call it “super-grain,” as it contains five times more calcium, iron and potassium than any other grain.


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS